Its the big one…

Hello!

So I haven’t blogged for a long time, been really struggling to find time to write content.  But I am now making a mission that I will at least do one post a week, if not more.  Plus its also time to review beauty products that I have been using.

Lets get cracking…

Today post, is going to focus on skincare products.  Products that I have used to help with my acne in the past and also my current skin care routine.

I’m sure like most girls, you always want to try every product for your skin whether its because you have oily/blemish prone skin, or if you have dry/sensitive skin.  In the past I have used a ton of products, but its only ever since I suffered an allergic reaction to my face, I have been more skincare ingredient savvy.  I actually will look at the ingredients on the skincare products to make sure it is okay to feed this into my skin.  I’m going to list the products I have used in the past, unfortunately I won’t be able to tell you the exact details on these products.  I will also talk about the skin care products I currently used.

In my teens, I used the following products range:

  • Clean and Clear
  • Neutrogena
  • Simple (Kind To Skin)

With the above products I think for most teen girls you would be still using it or have stopped using it.  I went from one range to another range, as I felt after a while it wasn’t doing much to my skin.

During my college/uni days I moved onto using something a bit more pricey and high end, and that was the Clinique Anti-Blemish Solutions Range.  I remember when I used the toner after cleansing my face, my god it felt like I literally ripped a layer of skin off my face!  I went back to the store I purchased from and spoke to the Clinique advisor who said I can use the Moisture Surge Gel after toning to replenish the lost moisture.  Back then I wasn’t much skin care savvy, but thinking about it now, I really should of stopped using this product.  As every time I used the toner, it stripped off the moisture in my skin, and I would then use the gel to replenish the moisture.  But oh no I carried on using it for at least 2-3 years.  It didn’t get rid of the acne, but I don’t think it added more to it.  It was kind of in between, but I think later on I just found that it didn’t do much and plus it got too drying.

Then one day I got recommended the “Mario Badescu” range from a friend who had cystic acne and the products from this range helped to make the cystic acne go away.  She recommended me to try the buffering lotion and the drying lotion.  I did the skin test online, and was recommended the acne range, which included the Acne Facial Cleanser,   Special Cleansing Lotion C and the Oil-Free Moisturiser SPF 30.  At first I think it did help with my acne, in terms of my face was less oily, spots were not as big or red.  The drying lotion is really effective, when you get a pimple coming up or one that has a small white head, dab the pink sediment onto it and it literally brings the spot to the head completely.  But giving the name has the word “drying”, this does dry the skin out, so use it every other day.  I used it every day but I had a good moisturiser that sorted out the dryness.  I used the product for over a year and felt again, it didn’t do much for my oily/acne skin.

I then decided to move onto organic products.  Products that was free from parabens, SLS and alcohol and was filled with goodness. After doing some research I decided to try Tropic Skin Care range, which is created by Susan Ma.  I tried the full range which included the following products:

  1. Smoothing Cleanser
  2. Vitamin Toner Refreshing Spritz
  3. Skin Revive Firming Nourishing Cream

I have to say the skincare range made my skin really smooth and moisturised, but it didn’t do much for acne and when I was using it I kept getting lots of small bumps on my face and some more spots, and in the end I narrowed it down it to being the cleanser and cream that was causing the problem.

My aunt gave me a cleanser to try from a HK brand called Sewame, I used their Anti-Acne Trace-Free Cleansing Foam, for the first few days it felt fine on my skin maybe a little bit drying and somehow I got this massive allergic reaction to my face and the night of my best friend wedding, I used this face wash after removing my make up and my skin was so so so dry and red.  I immediately stopped using this product, and after talking to my friend who used to suffer from severe acne and her face is now blemish free, she recommended me to try Origins.

I didn’t do much research with Origins, and I took a leaflet from the House of Fraser store read through the leaflet whilst on the train home with my poor red dry scaly face. After reading the leaflet I decided to try the Checks and Balance cleanser and United State balancing toner, as I felt this suited to what my skin was. I then hotfooted to Debenhams and I did ask the advisor what products she recommended me, and she wanted to recommended me the Dr Weil’s Mega Mushroom Relief, as my skin was so red.  But in the end I decided to buy the two products I had in mind, after continuously using it for few days I didn’t see any improvement to my skin.  It was still red and scaly, I contacted Origins Customer Service and the lady that I spoke to advised me that the toner was to harsh for my skin and that she would give me a full refund on both products.  She advised me to go to Selfridges and Co and speak to one of the Origins Advisor for them to recommended me a different range.  So I went down to London and visited the store, and was recommended the Dr Weil’s Mega Mushroom Relief range. That night I used the range, and I immediately felt a tingling sensation, but thought that was the product working and boy was I wrong.  I woke up the next day with a severe allergic reaction.  Later on I got a full refund back from Selfridges and the advisor said that I shouldn’t try any more Origins products.

I was now left with no facial products to use, after extensive googling I came across a post by Bubzbeauty.  She suffered an skin allergic reaction and used oats which helped and her skin is now glowing.  I thought to myself no harm trying, I went down to my local supermarket and purchased 1kg of pure oats for 69p and began cleaning my face.  AND it actually worked, it helped soothe the redness and overcome the dryness on my face.  When I went to HK last October and I immediately visted Watsons, to purchase Phyisogel AI Lotion as it was recommended by Bubzbeauty to relief dry and itchy skin.  I used this lotion in conjunction with the oats cleanser and it helped overcome the redness and severe dryness overall. I carried on using both products for 6 months, as I didn’t find any suitable products to use. But now I finally have.  I still use oats once a week as a natural exfoliator.

Before I reveal what skincare products I use, before I found them I used Eau Thermale Avene Cleanance Gel and Cleanance Emulsion. With the emulsion, I found it moisturised my face as well as controlling the sebum, the Cleanance Gel it was good, but I felt it was a little bit drying.

The current products I use now and will do in conjuction with taking chinese medication are:

  1. Eau Thermale Avene Gentle Gel Cleanser
  2. Tropic Skincare Vitamin Toner
  3. Eau Thermale Avene Cleanance Emulsion

The reason why I chose to try Eau Thermale Avene, is after watching Lisa Eldridge vidoes where she talks about her favourite skin care products. She educated me with what I should look for with a cleanser.  With Eau Thermale Avene, it is a range that is dedicated to sensitive, intolerant to allergic skin.  Each products contain the Avene Thermal Spring Water, which is a unique active ingreident with soothing, anti-irritating and anti-free radical properties.  Plus all products are hypoallergenic and non-comedogenic.

After having multiple reactions to my skin and after being more skincare savvy, I started to realise that I should stop using products that was catered for oily/acne skin.  The reason being is that most products that are catered for oily/acne skin contains the deadly ingredients “Sodium Laureth Sulfate” and other ingredients that will strip away the moisture in your skin and also will aggravate your acne.

With products like Clean and Clear, Simple, Neutrogena and Mario Badescu they all contain “Sodium Laureth Sulfate” and you might not think its doing much now, but I can guarantee in the long run your skin will be paying the price.  Remember if after cleansing your face and it feels skin tight. STOP using the products.

But it also doesn’t mean that using high end products or products that are organic, free from minerals, parabens or SLS you won’t suffer a reaction or it won’t cause more acne.

With the Tropic Skincare range the cleanser contained Cocoa Butter, which after researching this ingredient has a highly comedogenic which means it can cause acne.  This is why I was left with lots of small bumps on my face.  Unfortunately I haven’t found what ingredients caused the reaction to my skin when I used the Origins range, however I do still think this skincare brand is worth trying!

So when looking for skincare products, choose something that is hypoallergenic and non comedogenic. Why? As hypoallergenic porducts means that the product is made with ingredients that are not irritating to your skin and non comedogenic means it won’t cause acne.

Hopefully this all gives you a insight into skin care products and also products that didn’t work for me and those that did.  Remember eating healthy is just as important as feeding your skin with healthy ingredients.

Julie
xox

Leave a Reply

