Give Your Lips Some Colour

Jelly Lip Pen? Colour Elixir Giant Pen Stick? Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain? Since when did make up for lips get so fancy…

I’m not a lip colour person, to be honest I have a very low maintenance make up routine, BB cream, powder, mascara, eyeliner and thats me done. It’s only in the last 6 months I learned the trick of wearing eyeliner on the top of my eyelids and creating the cat eye winged look.  Ha! I’m quite lazy when it comes to caring for my lips, in the winter my lips are frequently dry and chapped and I don’t wear any balm.  I don’t know if you have the same issue as me, but I always find when I wear balm I get this residue that builds up on my lips after a few hours, and it’s not pretty! But then having dry flaky lips is not pretty either, so now I started to apply balm before I go to bed, so it’s like I’m doing an 8 hours lip mask :D.

When you walk into your local drug store, the make up counter is always bursting out with new products for you to swatch and try. For lips we have lipsticks, lip gloss, lip liners and now lip stains are on offer. If you’re like me, who isn’t a lipstick wearer, then lip stains/balms is a good starting point, it is what made me purchase my first two lipsticks two weeks ago! Lip balms/stains, are a moisturising balm combined with a pop of colour. Some are high pigmented and some are not. So a winner for everyone, right?

So Clinique gave us the Chubby Sticks for lips, which then as always led to many make up brands launching their own kind of version. Revlon brought out Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain, Max Factor brought out the Colour Elixir Giant Pen Stick, Bourjois launched Colour Boost Lip Crayon and to match the high end brand of Clinique, Dior launched their own Jelly Lip Pen, part of their Birds of Paradise collection.

Out of the many brands that launched their own chubby stick version, I decided to purchase Revlon, Max Factor and Dior.  I choose colours that will give me the fresh and dramatic look.

IMG_3493

(From top to bottom: Dior Jelly Lip Pen in 636 Carioca, Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in 005 Crush, Max Factor Colour Elixir Giant Pen Stick in 35 Passionate Red and Dior Lip Jelly Pen in 656 Gaïa).

Stay tuned as I will be reviewing these products soon!

IMG_3496

(From left to right: Dior in 656 Gaïa, Max Factor in 35 Passionate Red, Revlon in 005 Crush and Dior in 636 Carioca).

Which drugstore / high end lip balm/stain have you tried?

Julie
xox

One response to “Give Your Lips Some Colour

  1. Pingback: Lip products for the not-so-adventurous. | emilycrees·

Leave a Reply

