Max Factor Colour Elixir Giant Pen Stick – Passionate Red

Max-Factor-Spring-2013-Colour-Elixir-Giant-Pen-Stick-Promo

As mentioned in my previous post, I make zero effort with my lips.  I don’t balm or add any colour to them.  But after seeing lots of hype around Clinique’s Chubby Sticks and seeing lots of drug store brand bringing out their own version, I was curious to bring some colour to my lips.

I brought the Max Factor Colour Elixir Giant Pen Sticks, when it was released back in April, as part of its Summer makeup launch, but only started using it these last two months at party’s and wedding’s to add a dramatic evening look.

Maxfactor website states: Colour Elixir Giant Pen Stick – bold, defined colour for lips that pop.

The product boasts the following benefits:

  1. Bold, larger-than-life colour
  2. Strong pigmentation
  3. Sculpted tip for definition
  4. Smooth formula glides on
  5. Line and fill lips in-one
  6. Texture allows for blending

The product comes in 6 different shades:

  1. Princess Rose (1)
  2. Vibrant Pink (15)
  3. Subtle Coral (20)
  4. Designer Blossom (30)
  5. Passionate Red (35)
  6. Hot Chocolate (50)

The product number choices are a bit random, makes me think are Max Factor planning to launch more shades in the future? Or maybe different countries have different shades available.  The shade I chose was number 35 Passionate Red.  I always wanted to try red lip colour for my lips, but was never brave enough to try and never found the right shade of red that made me go wow.  Until, of course I saw Passionate Red, after swatching this in Boots I was sold.

PicFrame

What I think: Passionate Red, is a gorgeous red with a gold sparkles, don’t worry you can’t see the gold sparkles when you apply it onto your lips, instead it gives a shimmer finish to your lips.  The pen stick is really smooth to glide on and control, because of its creamy texture.  The bonus side is because of its high pigmentation you really only need one sweep and you get the full intensity of the colour on your lips.  So no need to blot and apply, blot and apply.  The staying power is really good and the colour stays bold even after drinking and eating.  Even when the colour does wear off, it leaves a red tint on your lips, and if you want you can re apply.  However if you notice you have dry chapped lips, I would wipe off the lip colour and apply it again.  I think with any product if you was to re apply lip colour on top of dry lips its wouldn’t give you a pretty finish.

The downside of this product is that unlike other jumbo lip products, this lip product doesn’t offer the twist pen function therefore it requires sharpening.  I have read on the blog’sphere that some beauty bloggers are having trouble sharpening the pens as it doesn’t fit into the standard sharpeners.  I don’t need to sharp my pen as of yet, as I don’t use it all the time.  But I guess I cross that bridge when it comes.

Overall I’m pretty impressed with this beauty of a lip colour pen by Max Factor and it does live up to its claims.  I may have to go and purchase more colours, and because of Max Factor, I firmly now believe every girl should have a red lip colour in their make up bag.  You can never go wrong with wearing red.

Max Factor Colour Elixir Giant Pen Sticks costs £6.99 and can be brought from Boots and Superdrug, who are both currently offering 3 for 2 on all make up!

Have you tried these Max Factor pen sticks?

Julie
xox

4 responses to “Max Factor Colour Elixir Giant Pen Stick – Passionate Red

  1. Pingback: Review/Swatches : Max Factor Colour Elixir Giant Pen Stick | A hair and make-up artist blog·

  2. That red suits you very well indeed ! I’m in love with hot chocolate and subtle coral, that I find very easy to wear. I have a baby pink one name wild orchid that is wonderful for doll looks too.

Leave a Reply

