French Pharmacy Haul

Good evening!

As you may all have read on my blog that I use Eau Thermale Avene products for my skin, I always wanted to venture out and try more french beauty brands, and so I did.  I recently had a little french pharmacy haul on Escentual, as they were offering up to 1/3 off on selected french pharmacy brands, and last Thursday I went to Paris for the day and I just had to pop into a pharmacy to stock up on beauty products!  Boy, why can’t UK pharmacies look like the ones in Paris!

So exactly what did I purchase…

IMG_3827

Bioderma (Créaline) Sensibio H2O Micelle Solution
Every beauty blogger have heard of this cult beauty product, it is raved massively on the blog’sphere.  I first heard of it from Lisa Eldridge, who swears by this product to remove every trace of makeup.  I originally brought this product in 100ML from Escentual for £4.50, so pricey compared to L’oreal Skin Perfection 3 in 1 Purifying Micellar Solution.  BUT OMG, I know why everyone raves Bioderma now, it actually removes every trace of makeup, much better than the L’oreal one.  You can purchase it in the UK from Escentual, but it is very pricey.  I paid €15 for two 500ML bottles, which worked out to be £13, so I paid £6.50 for one and in the UK its £14.50 for 500ML!  Such a beauty bargain…

Bioderma Hydrabio Riche Moisturising Cream
I saw this product on another beauty blog (can’t remember which one now!), but she raved how despite this moisturiser is for very dehydrated and sensitive skin it doesn’t leave your skin like an oil slick.  As I suffer from acne and use acne cream, areas on my skin where I use acne products  is dry and flaky so I thought I give this product a try.  Its hypoallergenic and non-comedogenic, which is a double winner for me.

Klorane Mango Butter Conditioning Hair
I suffer from oily/dry hair, as I straighten my hair every day (poor hair!) so I am always on the lookout for hair products that can help with my dry hair.  I brought this from Escentual during their french pharmacy sale for £4.87 instead of £6.50, and it was only after I purchased it I thought “HOW MUCH DID I JUST SPEND ON A CONDITIONER?!!!!”.  I can’t tell whether or not it has helped my hair, as I have been using it on and off, but as I want to review this product soon, I am going to start using this every day to see if I notice any difference.

Klorane Oatmilk Gentle Dry Shampoo Spray
As you read above, you know what my hair condition is.  So I wash my hair every day and I never really got on well with Batiste dry shampoo, it petrifies me when I spray it into my hair and I see that white patch, I know when you rub it in it goes away but I still feel it leaves a residue on my hair.  So when I saw this product on Karlie Kloss instagram, I thought if a supermodel is using this and stocking up when she was in PFW, then its good enough for me!  Again this was purchased from Escentual for £2.32 instead of £3.10 and yes it was another product that afterwards I thought “HOW MUCH DID I JUST SPEND ON A DRY SHAMPOO?!!!!” haha.  I have yet to try this product, but I will do soon so I can review it, and see what the hype is all about.

La Roche-Posay Effaclar Duo [+]
Now I know the original formulation has received so many rave reviews on the beauty blog’sphere, and when LRP decided to release an updated formulation everyone went crazy again.  I purchased this from Boots during their 3 for 2 offer and LRP are also currently doing a money back guarantee on this product.  Now I have used this product for about 3 weeks now and I can’t really say if I have noticed an improvement yet, but next week will be my 4th week of using this so I am going to see if it lives up to the claims they state this product gives on the website.

La Roche-Posay Serozinc
I saw this product on various beauty products and also on beauty guru Caroline Hirons post after googling reviews on this product.  Now I haven’t used this yet but reading reviews on this product, it helps purifies and soothes the skin.  It is marketed as a toner for oily problem skin as well as helping to soothe razor burn to other skin conditions.  This product is not available to purchase from UK, most beauty bloggers have been buying it from eBay.  I picked this beauty up in Paris for €7.

Phyto Paris Phytokératine Repairing Shampoo
I was given this for free after spending €70 in the french pharmacy in Paris, and only when I came back from my day trip that I had a closer look and it is shampoo for weakened, damaged hair.  Well I can’t wait to try this then!

Nuxe Gentle Toning Lotion with Rose Petals
I saw this product on Escentual and did a quick google search and saw that our very own Marks and Spencer’s was selling Nuxe products online.  It is described as a product that soothes and softens the skin without drying the skin out.  The product contains rose petals water, witch hazel and hyaluronic acid.  It is alcohol and paraben free and it’s also non-comedogenic, yes you guessed it – another winner! I have yet to try this product but I will do very soon, I just need to decide which once to try first Serozinc or this one?

Nuxe Rêve de Miel Lip Balm
I am sure I was the last person to find out about this product on the entire universe, despite it being raved on possibly every beauty blog that exists out there.  I am very fussy with lip balms, every lip balms I have used in the past have all left a residue on my lips which I hate.  Carmex, Vaseline, Maybelline baby lips, Nivea lip butter they all do this to me.  So when I read online that this lip balm leaves a matte finish and no residue – I was sold even though I have never seen this product before.  BUT I wasn’t expecting to see that this lip balm costs £9.50 to purchase for 15ml, so I was very reluctant to pay for a lip balm at this price, but when Escentual was doing 1/3 off sale and this beauty was reduced to £6.33, I caved in and purchased it.   I have yet to review this and I feel I need to test this out thoroughly so I can give a honest decent review.  However using it on and off for a week or so, it is living up to its hype.

Which french pharmacy brands have you used?

Julie
xox

6 responses to “French Pharmacy Haul

  1. I have never bought any French pharmacy products and I wanted to get bioderma but its too complicated review. BTW nice in depth post x

    • Thank you for the lovely feedback (:

      You can get most of the french brands in the UK now on Escentual or on Marks and Spencer’s online website, but it is very pricey (Nuxe, Bioderma and Caudalie), However brands like Eau Thermale Avene, Vinchy and La Roche-Posay you can pick them up from Boots. xox

  2. I have only tried Loreal shampoos since it’s the only French brand I know. I often have hair fall problems so I used their anti-hair fall shampoo and conditioner set but after using up the whole bottle, there were no noticeable effect, I think my hair fall had its worse by that time. There are other french products in beauty stores but most of the labels and instructions are written in French.There goes my problem.

Leave a Reply

