La Roche-Posay Effaclar Duo +

I never used the original La Roche-Posay Effaclar Duo formulation, but I know it has been raved massively across the beauty blogs, so when a new updated formulation was released I had to test it out.  This time round the new formulation helps to fight against red and brown marks that are left on the skin as a result of blemishes.  Like with all new products I thoroughly did my research and found that this product had a mix bag of reviews.  Some bloggers raved it for fighting against blemishes, whilst some said it caused them with an outbreak of spots.  Yikes…I was then stuck in a dilemma, should I buy or not buy?

I eventually caved in as Boots was doing 3 for 2 offers on skin care products and also LRP was offering (and still is) a money back guarantee on this product.

IMG_3538

LRP website states: Effaclar DUO [+] is a daily moisturiser specifically developed for oily skin, prone to blemishes, clogged pores and uneven skin texture.It is corrective.  It helps correct the appearance of blemishes, helping to bring down inflammation and remove bacteria that may lead to spots.  It is unclogging. It clears blockages in your pores, using precise and gentle cell by cell exfoliation that helps remove dead cells.  And now for the first time, it fights against marks. Red and brown marks are a secondary consequence of blemishes which can affect anyone, whatever their skin colour.  New Effaclar DUO [+], helps prevent the appearance of red and brown marks, even on sensitive skin.

What I think: The product is light and when applied it dries matte so it acts as a great makeup base/primer.  After using it for four weeks, I can honestly say it has helped reduce the redness/inflammation around my chin.  In terms of reduction of blemishes/outbreaks, I recently have been getting less new spots but I’m not sure if its down to this product or maybe the medication is working?  I haven’t noticed as much with the reduction of red acne marks/scars on my skin, but I didn’t have high hopes that within 4 weeks I could see a reduction as the majority of my acne marks have been there for a very long time.  I didn’t expect an overnight miracle.  I wouldn’t solely rely on this as a moisturiser for your entire face as you still may need another moisturiser to hydrate the skin too.
But overall I definitely think this is a product worth investing and trying for anyone that has oily/acne prone skin.

You can buy this product at Boots for £15.50 or at Escentual for £13.15.

Have you used any La Roche-Posay products before?  What do you think of the Effaclar Duo [+]?

Julie
xox

Leave a Reply

