New beauty purchases

I have purchased some beauty treats for myself a couple weeks ago (very naughty of me!).  I will try and do a full review on each of them, but for the time being here is a little taster of what I purchased…

L to R: Neutrogena Shine Control Powder, Ginvera BB Cream, Lancome Hypnose Star Mascara, Hourglass Mineral Viel Primer, Bourjois CC Cream, Lancome Hypnose Mascara, & Other Stories Hand Lotion.

L to R: Neutrogena Shine Control Powder, Ginvera BB Cream, Lancome Hypnose Star Mascara, Hourglass Veil Mineral Primer, Bourjois CC Cream, Lancome Hypnose Mascara, & Other Stories Hand Lotion.

Neutrogena Shine Control Powder
I first heard of this product from Paula’s Choice Beautipedia, as this powder was voted the best compact powder. I suffer from oily acne prone skin, and after a few hours of wearing makeup, I often find I need to start blotting my skin with my trusty Clear and Clear Oil Control Paper.  A while back I started using Rimmel Clear Complexion Powder, however I find it can get a little bit cakey if you keep applying it for a touch up, however it didn’t break me out at all with this product.  I have high hopes for this Neutrogena product to keep my shiny face in check!  The sad news for UK people (like me!) is that you cannot buy this product in our local drugstores, I was very lucky that my friend went to NY and purchased this for me.

Ginvera Green Tea Nude Cover BB Cream
You will all know this is my HG BB cream.  I have wrote a full detail review here, so last month Janiro was doing an offer where the 40ML BB cream was on offer for £18 (same price as the 25ML) so I had to purchase.  It would be a crime not to – I tell myself that every time I purchase something that is a bargain/new.

Lancôme Hypnôse Star Mascara in Black
Lancôme recently celebrated their iconic mascara turning 10 years old and was offering a chance for us to purchase all versions of their Hynôse mascara for £10 each exclusively at Debenhams.  I grabbed this version and the normal Hynôse version for £20, such a bargain considering they are usually £22.50 each!  The Star version boasts voluminous, show-stopping eyes when this mascara is used – cannot wait to try it!

Hourglass Veil Mineral Primer
This primer is probably old news for most beauty bloggers, I first heard of it on the youtube video by Cassandra Bankson where she shows people how she covered her severe acne and mentioned this primer.  Now I suffer from acne and any products that can help control my oily skin and doesn’t leave me to break out I want to try.  However at the time when I watched her video, this product was only available to purchase in America.  It is not available to purchase in the UK from Space N.K and John Lewis but it is soooo expensive.  £20 for 10ML and £52 for 30ML, I could never justify spending that much on a primer.  But I was fortunate enough that my friend was visiting NY and picked up a bottle for me in Sephora for $56.  I have used it now for two weeks and so far I am loving it.  It controls my oil (I do still need to blot, but no where near as frequent as before) and it doesn’t cause my skin to break out or aggravate my acne.  Expect a full review soon.

Bourjois 123 Perfect CC Cream
So we have BB creams and I love them, and then came CC creams and it was like who are ya?! Haha.  Now honestly I struggled to find a CC cream I liked, as I really didn’t like texture of the CC creams I tried, it was a thicker cream consistency texture and I struggled to get it to blend and it just clinged onto my dry patches.  I tried Rachel K, Clinique Moisture Surge and Chanel’s CC cream and hated them all.  Then along came Bourjois 123 Perfect CC Cream, and I have always seen many beauty bloggers raving about Bourjois foundation and after doing some research many beauty bloggers was raving this product.  The fact it came in 4 different colours (most CC Creams is one colour fits all – Clinique offers a wide range of colours) and what I also liked about the Bourjois formulation is that is it s runny liquid texture like the Ginvera BB Cream.  I have used it one and off for a few weeks and I absolutely love it.  I shall be doing a full review soon.

Lancôme Hypnôse Mascara in Extra Black
Like I said before Lancôme was recently celebrating Hynôse 10th Birthday and was offering their iconic mascara range for £10, so I picked up this version along with the Hypnôse star version.  Now the original version boasts it build up to 6 times more volume without clumping.  I brought the limited edition which features green eyes all over the product.  Such a good beauty bargain.

& Other Stories Shinjuku Bloom Hand Lotion
& Other Stories is like the middle range sister brand to H&M and I’ll be honest their clothing range isn’t really my cup of tea, I prefer COS.  But oh boy & Other Stories beauty section is amazing.  They stock some bespoke brands that I have never heard and seen of and they also have their own beauty range.  I am a sucker for hand creams, I apply it religiously everyday than I do with body cream and I am also a sucker for floral fruity scents.  I first tried the Shinjuku Bloom hand cream in December and I immediately fell in love with the scent and the name matches this scent perfectly, but I didn’t buy it in the end as I had far too many hand creams already.  I was in London few weeks ago and popped into & Other Stories and this product was literally calling for me to purchase it (I say this for everything I buy…haha) and I caved in and brought it and I don’t regret it at all.  It smells lush!

Have you tried any of these new picks?

Julie
xox

Leave a Reply

