Dry hands… You need to invest in these bad boys.

I for one suffer from dry hands.  Every winter no matter what, bam my hands are dry.  One of my essentials that I always carry with me in my hand bag are hand creams, I can’t go anywhere without carrying one.

I personally stock up on the travel size hand creams and every now and again you will find magazines giving out free L’Occitane hand creams (definitely worth buying).  On one of my birthdays I got gifted a set of 12 hand creams by Crabtree & Evelyn and i’m still working my way through them.  Currently in my beauty drawer I have 10 unopened hand creams.  I told you I stock up.

I present to you the three brands I recommend purchasing hand creams from:

(L to R: The Body Shop, Crabtree & Evelyn, L’Occitane)


The Body Shop:
Now I don’t often shop at The Body Shop, only usually at Christmas for presents and stocking fillers.  Every year in the Glamour Christmas magazine, there is a The Body Shop Christmas voucher and every year I get the £3.00 off one (I want the £100 one!!).  Anyway, this year I noticed that they expanded their hand cream range, before they only had four scents: Hemp, Absinthe, Almond and Wild Rose.  Out of the four I only liked the smell of Almond and Wild Rose.  But now majority of the body care ingredients now have a travel size hand cream to purchase.  Using my voucher I brought their Christmas special favour, Glazed Apple.  I was so chuffed as I only paid 50p!  The scent is really divine.  It smells really sweet and fruity, pretty much what you expect a glazed apple to smell like.  Now when comparing it to L’Occitane and Crabtree & Evelyn, they are not as moisturising as I think they only contain a very small amount of shea butter.  So I found that it is only moisturising for a very short period of time. But they do leave the hands feeling soft with no greasy sticky feeling.  Like with most of the products, the hand creams are very affordable with 30ML costing only £3.50.  My top three scents from their range are: Glazed Apple (not available to buy anymore), Mango and Almond.

Crabtree & Evelyn: I never took notice of this brand, until I was gifted that wonderful hand cream set.  After trying one I thought, these are a competitor of L’Occitane.  What I like about Crabtree & Evelyn (C&E) is that they have some traditional scents (Rosewater, Lavender) but they also have some strange ones (Avocado, Olive and Basil).  They are on par as moisturising as L’Occitane and like The Body Shop they leave the hands feeling soft without a greasy feeling.  C&E recently changed the packaging of their hand cream, their new ones are now in a durable polylaminate tube, where as before the tube is metal, so when you are near finishing the tube I found that it would crack in the creases and the lotion will squeeze out in a all places!  The hand creams are bit more expensive than The Body Shop, but cheaper than L’Occitane, coming in at £5.00 for 30ML.  My top three scents are: Rosewater, La Source and Pear and Pink Magnolia.

L’Occitane: The company states that they sell one every three seconds, so by the time you finished reading this post they would of sold A LOT.  I don’t remember how I came across this brand, but I am pretty sure that my first hand cream I used from them must of came from a magazine.  Marie Clare quite frequently gift a lot of L’Occitane goodies.  But I remember the first time I applied their hand cream, I was amazing just how quickly it sunk into the skin.  It didn’t feel like the product was just sitting on top of the skin.  My hands felt smooth, supple and soft to touch.  The cream didn’t leave a greasy feeling.  I was hooked.  Each of their hand creams are formulated with 20% shea butter.  The one featured in the picture is a new scent, it is the Shea Zesty Lime Hand Cream.  They are quite pricey £8.00 for 30ML travel size, but like I said before you can find them sometimes free in magazines.  My top scents from their range are: Cherry Blossom, Almond Delicious Hands and Shea Delightful Rose.

(L to R: Crabtree & Evelyn, L'Occitane, The Body Shop)

(L to R: Crabtree & Evelyn, L’Occitane, The Body Shop)

Have you brought hand creams from C&E, The Body Shop or L’Occitane before?

Julie
xox

2 responses to “Dry hands… You need to invest in these bad boys.

  1. I’ve been wanting to do a blog post like this for ages but I keep misplacing my handcreams because I take it with me everywhere! I was looking at my hands the other day, it was really cold and my skin looked soooo old and ageing! I couldn’t wait to squeeze half a tube of cream on them!! I’ll have to pick up one of The Body Shop ones soon, I love the sound of the mango scent! x

    • Hehe, yes this cold weather is horrible and a pain to our hands! My hands are super dry and constantly need to keep moisturising them. We need spring/summer to come! :D
      Yes The Body Shop does some nice scents and they are currently offering 40% off on all items in store and online! No excuses now Sarah! xox

Leave a Reply

