My Updated Daily Skincare Routine

The last time I did a post like this was back in June 2013, and its now 2015!  Well it is safe to say that the routine has changed, I got rid of some products and changed them for some new ones.  You can read my previous skincare routine here.

Those that are new to my blog, my skin type is oily, acne prone plus sensitive.  I have to be very careful with products that I choose to slather onto my skin, as it can either aggravate my existing acne/give me a spot outbreak or even worse an allergic reaction.  I can’t stress just how important it is to do a test patch before you try any products and thoroughly research the products and the ingredients that are used.

Before I try any new product, I pay a visit to this website I found and become an acne detective.  The website is fantastic, there are a list of ingredients and each ingredient has a comedogencity and irritancy rating, and any ingredient with a rating of 3, 4 or 5 you should avoid!  Everyone who is into skincare, really should bookmark this website.

So back to my routine, again like previously my morning and evening skin care routine doesn’t change much apart from using one or two extra products in the evening.  I really like to keep things simple, purely because of the skin type I have and plus I don’t have the money to just splurge on lots of products to use.  Plus sometimes keeping it simple and fuss free is the best.

IMG_3821

Morning Routine.  
(From the top, going clockwise: Avene Gentle Gel Cleanser, Physiogel Daily Moisture Therapy Lotion, Avene Cleanance Emulsion, La Roche Posay Hydraphase Intense Eye Gel, Nuxe Gentle Toning Lotion)

In the morning:

Cleanser: Eau Thermale Avene Gentle Gel Cleanser

Toner: Nuxe Gentle Toning Lotion*

Moisturiser: Eau Thermale Avene Cleanance Emulsion / Physiogel Daily Moisture Therapy Lotion*

Eye Cream: La Roche Posay Hydraphase Intense Eye Gel*

IMG_3820

Evening Routine.
(From the top, going clockwise: Avene Gentle Gel Cleanser, Physiogel Daily Moisture Therapy Lotion, La Roche Posay Hydraphase Intense Eye Gel, Nuxe Gentle Toning Lotion, Avene Cleanance Emulsion, Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water)

In the evening:

Make up remover: Garner Micellar Cleansing Water*

Cleanser: Eau Thermale Avene Gentle Gel Cleanser

Toner: Nuxe Gentle Toning Lotion

Moisturiser: Eau Thermale Avene Cleanance Emulsion / Physiogel Daily Moisture Therapy Lotion

Eye Cream: La Roche Posay Hydraphase Intense Eye Gel

IMG_3822

Extra Goodies. (L to R: Avene Gentle Purifying Scrub, Too Cool For School Egg Cream Sheet Mask, Sanctuary Spa 5 Minute Thermal Detox Mask).

Extra goodies

Scrub: Eau Thermale Avene Gentle Purifiying Scrub*

Mask: Sanctuary Spa 5 Minute Thermal Detox Mask* / Too Cool For School Egg Cream Sheet Mask*

As you can see, the morning and evening routine is not much different, except that I double cleanse when it comes to taking my make up off.  Again can’t stress how important this is!  I do not believe in just a single cleanser to get rid of makeup/washing your face or the use of face wipes.

With the moisturiser, the Physiogel one I only use it on my chin and mouth area as I am currently experiencing dry and flaky skin there due to the acne treatment I use.
Now with the extra goodies products I use the scrub twice a week and the masks are once a week, though sometimes I do tend to forget to use them.  It was my first time using the Sanctuary Spa one this week and I really enjoyed the thermal effect.  The Too Cool For School mask was brought during my recent trip to Hong Kong.  Sheet masks are really popular in Asia as it is quick, easy and convenient to use.  I have used this mask a couple times and it has left my skin super soft and moisturised the following day.

So that’s my updated daily skincare routine, I have reviewed the Avene Gentle Cleanser, Garner Micellar Cleansing Water and the Nuxe Gentle Toning Lotion.  I will aim to review the other products individually soon.

What is your daily skincare routine?  Do you use any of the products I use?

Julie
xox

*new products introduced into my skincare routine.

Leave a Reply

