Top 5 Holiday Destinations

I don’t think there is one person that doesn’t like going on holiday and visiting new places (of course, unless you have a fear of flying/travelling on a boat or other forms of transport).

In the 27.5 years of my life, I have traveled and visited several different countries/cities.  But there are still so many more places I want to visit.

In no special order the places that I have visited are:

  1. Paris,
  2. Calais
  3. Lille
  4. Berlin
  5. Dresden
  6. Switzerland
  7. Barcelona
  8. Prague
  9. Amsterdam
  10. Hong Kong
  11. Macau
  12. Dubai
  13. New York
  14. Atlanta
  15. Washington DC
  16. San Francisco
  17. Cupertino

By far, NYC is my ultimate favourite city to visit.  I love the cheap shopping (OUTLETS!!!!), the food, the ease of getting from A to B (though I would not recommend you to walk like 20 blocks – it is far!), the architecture and the sights. It is safe to say, NYC stole my heart.  Despite going back twice already, I still haven’t visited the Rockefeller Centre, third time lucky perhaps?  If you haven’t been to NYC, I really urge you to get your booty over there!

I probably will be going through a career change by September, so I don’t think I will be going on holiday till at least 2017/2018. Sad times ):  But none the less, one can dream and plan for future holidays.  Here are my top 5 places (in no particular order) I want to visit:

1. Cinque Terre, Italy

Ever since I saw a photo on Instagram that showed different coloured terraces built on cliffs that overlook the sea, I knew I had to go there.  Little did I know that this magical place is Cinque Terre.  Cinque Terre consists of “The Five Lands which comprises of five villages: Monterosso al Mare, Vernazza, Corniglia, Manarola, and Riomaggiore.  It really is a magical place.

2. Vietnam

My mum was born in Vietnam and she moved to UK during the war, she since has been back to her home country several times.  But me?  Never.  Which is mad, considering I love Vietnamese food, and where else to eat Vietnamese food than in Vietnam itself.  I have heard many great stories from my friends and relatives who have visited and they all say it really is a must visit country.

3. Seoul, Korea

TWO WORDS: BEAUTY PRODUCTS.  So admittedly, I only want to visit Korea because of their beauty/skincare and makeup products.  Korean skincare products have the most adorable packaging and they come up with innovative products.  Also not to mention just how generous shops are by giving you tons of samples! *cough* stingy UK *cough*.

4. Tokyo, Japan

This is a lifetime goal, that before I die I must visit Japan.  I love Japanese food, I love Japanese products, I love Japanese snacks and most importantly I need to visit the Kit Kat chocolate store in Tokyo.  Peach Kit Kat here I come (along with all the other flavours)!

5. LA, California

I am much of a city gal and I don’t know why but I never thought I like California.  It never really appealed to me to visit there.  If people say America, I’ll say New York.  But ever since 2012, when I got the chance to go to Cupertino (for work, can you guess who I used to work for?).  I was there for two weeks and I drove down to San Francisco for the weekend, I just fell in love with California.  People are so laid back, chilled and happy.  The nice weather definitely helps. LA is the next city I want to visit in California.  Sunny weather, ATM cupcake machine and outlet shopping, who wouldn’t want to go to LA!

Vernazza, Cinque Terre. Image from:

Vernazza, Cinque Terre.
Image from:”1 vernazza 2012” by chensiyuan – chensiyuan. Licensed under GFDL via Wikimedia Commons.

Have you visited any of the places I’ve been to?  Where would you like to go next?

Julie
xox

7 responses to “Top 5 Holiday Destinations

  1. I love your travel list! Tokyo really is brilliant. I went before I truly appreciated Japan (read, fangirled over it) so didn’t get the best out of my trip as I could have done. I’d love to go back. It’s crazy and cute and awesome
    x GNAR MOSH x

    • Thank you Amy! So jealous of you that you have been to Japan! I’m still waiting for that day to happen for me! (: x

  2. I’m so jealous of the traveling you’ve done! On your list, I’ve been to Berlin, Dresden, Prague, New York, and Washington D.C. My top dream destinations are Italy (Rome and Florence), Paris, Tokyo, and Greece!

    -Nicole
    Meet Me in Midtown

    • Ahhh thank you Nicole! Great choices you got for holiday destinations!
      Paris is wonderful city! I love to go to Italy! (: x

    • thank you! NYC is amazing. I’m going back this September – will be third time back. It’s like my second home! x

Leave a Reply

