Dior Jelly Lip Pen

I first mentioned this product back in 2013, where I was comparing against different type of lip balm pens that were available on the market.  You can read that post here.  Since then I started having a massive addiction towards red lipstick and veered off the use of lip balm pens.  However one product I really do like is the Dior Jelly Lip Pen.

Now these were part of the Dior Bird of Paradise Summer 2013 Collection (so the product is quite old).  However this product was a limited collection.  Even though Dior is no longer selling these in store, you can still get these online.

Dior

Image source: Google

Little snippet of the background on this collection: In Christian Dior’s early years as a designer, he was keen on exploring the visual and cultural magnificence beyond Europe, and Latin America became a source of inspiration for years to come. His global interests were evident in his designs. Vibrant colors, sophisticated fabrics like organza and silk, and ornamented details (often featuring feathers) exuded an exotic femininity and glamour. Drawing from nature’s tropical paradises, Dior takes a journey through Latin America once again to evoke the intoxicating aura of fresh greenery, glistening waters, and exotic creatures.

The Bird of Paradise collection embraces the vibrancy of nature and translates to versatile, wearable color for summer. Lips are inspired by tropic temperatures, while eyeshadow palettes feature a spectrum of luminous, marine blues, bamboo greens, and subtle accents of soft yellow for dramatic, shimmering lids inspired by the plumage of an exotic bird. A combination of bright pigments and rich textures celebrate summer’s energetic mix.

Dior Lip Jelly Pens

Feelunique/Escentual website states: Dior turns the pro jumbo pencil into a trendy summer gloss. A moisturising balm formula that combines pure colour, ultra-shine and lipcare in an intuitive applicator. Coloured like after biting into tropical fruit, the lips burst with sensuality without that feeling of unwanted texture for those long summer days.

L to R: 636 - Carioca, 656 - Gaia)

L to R: 636 – Carioca, 656 – Gaia)

What I think: I think these are a competitor against the Clinque’s Chubby Sticks, in terms of the price and both being high end brands.  I personally haven’t tried any of the Clinque’s Chubby Sticks so I can’t say whether or not both products are similar.
What I like about the Dior ones, is the twist-up mechanism.  Seriously who likes to sharpen their lip pens?  NO ONE.

The pens are a sheer-to-medium coverage (I can’t remember how many coats I used on my hands to get the colour pay off – as the photos were taken a while ago).  However I think a sheer coverage makes it ideal for daytime wear.  The pen stick is really smooth and easy to glide on and control and they smell absolutely gorgeous.  Its like a tropical sweet smell.  They leave the lips feeling moisturised but without the sticky tacky feeling and a shimmering finish.

The downside of the product is the price.  At £19.00 a pop these a very high end luxury pricing.  Also as you can see from the second photo in the blog, the 656 Gaia shade, the pen has lost its precision tip, so it is not a flat round shape which makes it harder to apply and to line the lips.  This could be my fault in the way I have been applying the product, however compared to the Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain where I have used the product a lot, those have still kept its precision tip.

Out of the two shades I brought (636 Carioca and 656 Gaia), I was pleasantly surprised that I pulled off the Carioca shade which is a gorgeous coral orange as I always thought that given my yellow skin tone it would clash with the coral orange.  I was more surprised that I liked the Gaia shade, which a shimmering rosy pink red as I have never been a fan of wearing pink on my lips.  However I found that Gaia was just the right shade of pink for me.

Overall I would definitely recommend this product, not because its by Dior but because I found these to be moisturising yet it doesn’t link a sticky residue tacky feeling which compared to Revlon which did.

You can buy the Dior Jelly Lip Pens from FeelUnique and Escentual for £19.00.  Both websites are currently doing offers, you can get 15% off from Feel Unique using the code: FASHION15 (ends Tuesday 24th February) and you can get 20% off from Escentual using the code: ESCENTUAL20 (ends Monday 23rd February).

Have you used any Dior products before?  What are your thoughts on the Dior Jelly Lip Pens?

Julie
xox
Leave a Reply

