Bourjois Volume 1 Seconde Mascara

Unlike face makeup, I tend to experiment a lot when it comes to mascaras.  I’m always on a look out for one that can hold my curls, lengthen my lashes as well as volumising it.  Not too much to ask right?

In the past, I have tried several different mascaras, like Maybelline Great Lash Mascara, Maybelline Volum’ Express The Colossal Cat Eyes Mascara, Seventeen Doll’d Up Masacra, Lancome Hypnôse Doll Eyes Mascara, Eyeko Eye Do Mascara, Chanel Le Volume Mascara, Benefit They’re Real! Mascara and probably a fair other few mascaras that I have forgotten!

But out of all those I think the Maybelline Cat Eyes Mascara is my favourite as it volumises my lashes, make my eyes pop and it can be done by wearing it alone.  As I have found with the other mascara’s, if I mix two different ones together it gives the effect I want and need.

So when I got given a chance to try out the Bourjois Volume 1 Seconde Mascara*, I didn’t hesitate!  After all like lipsticks, you can never have too many mascaras to try from.

Now I am already a fan of the Bourjois CC Cream and I have heard many great things about their lipstick line, so I was intrigued to see how their mascara range fair up to.  Bourjois is the sister brand of Chanel, though there were talks last year that it was being sold to Coty.  Now, you’ll find that with most high end beauty brands that have a sister drugstore beauty brand, they will tend to try out new technology of makeup with them to see how the play out to the general public.

So how did the Bourjois Volume 1 Seconde mascara do?  Can it really do what it says it can in 1 second?

IMG_4945 Bourjois website states:  Volume 1 Seconde mascara gives your lashes clump-free, 360° Volume.  The unique patented brush is inspired by the professional hair styling brushes with the spherical bristles that wrap lashes for 360° volume and the straight bristles that create a clump free definition.
The mascara provides a 16 hour hold and the waterproof version provides a 24 hour hold.

IMG_4947

What I think: Being Chinese I am not blessed with lashes that have a curl. My ones are very straight.  So usually I have to curl my lashes using the Eyeko Lash Curler (which is amazing!) before putting on mascara.  Even though I’m not sure about the 1 second claim, but with two coats I am able to achieve lashes that are volumised and lengthened.  They really do open up my eyes.
With the brush, it is unique on its own with its spherical bristles and I don’t think there are any other drugstore mascaras that have this type of brush.  Like I said before as Bourjois is a sister brand to Chanel, I am convinced this is on par with the Chanel Le Volume mascara brush, as that brush has snowflake-shaped disks that are stacked and orientated within the brush.
I wear mascara for about 10-11 hours on a working day, and I do find that half way through the day my eyelashes has lost its curl, however they still remain volumised and I like the fact there is no flaking or smudging compared to other mascaras I have used in the past.

Top to Bottom: No mascara, Two coats of the Boujois 1 Seconde Volume Mascara

Top to Bottom: No mascara, Two coats of the Bourjois 1 Seconde Volume Mascara

Overall, I am sold on this mascara and I think this has overtaken the Maybelline Cat Eyes mascara, as my favourite drugstore mascara.  I think it would be a while until I try anymore new mascaras that I have stashed away in my beauty drawer.

You can buy the Bourjois Volume 1 Seconde Mascara from Boots, Superdrug and Feelunique.  Both Boots and Superdurg are currently doing 3 for 2 on all Bourjois makeup.

Do you use Bourjois makeup?  What are your thoughts on the Bourjois Volume 1 Seconde Mascara?

Julie
xox

2 responses to “Bourjois Volume 1 Seconde Mascara

  1. I am a big fan of this mascara, it really adds a lot of volume. Like you, I curl my lashes before, but with two coats of this mascara, they look amazing.

    • Hi Georgina! Yes I am a massive fan of this mascara. I haven’t used any other mascara’s since using this one! x

Leave a Reply

