Hourglass Veil Mineral Primer

Primers are one of those products where its a toss between do you need one or can you get by without having one?

I went through most of my teens (I say teens, but I only started wearing foundation when I was 18/19) without using primers.  It was only when I brought the bareMinerals Get Started Makeup Starter Kit that I even heard about primers and used one.  Though at the time of using the bareMinerals Prime Time Oil Control Primer, I didn’t think primers were worth using and investing.  I thought it was another way for brands to make money, but now I have a different opinion.

I think if you’ve found a primer that works for you and your skin type, then you’re onto a winner.  I have only tried a few primers and they are The Body Shop Vitamin C Skin Reviver – this was recommended me by a friend to use it as a primer.  It was not very good with controlling oil at all. Benefit the POREfessional Primer and the previously mentioned bareMinerals Prime Time Oil Control Primer.  All of these three just didn’t do much for my oily acne prone skin.  I found the Benefit one gave me small under bumps.

However good news is after trial and error, I have found my Holy Grail Primer… and that is *drum roll* the Hourglass Veil Mineral Primer.

I first heard of Hourglass and this product from a YouTube video by Cassandra Bankson who suffered from severe acne and described this primer as rubbing pearls into the skin.  I was genuinely sold, not because she described it as rubbing pearls into your skin, but because she suffered from acne.  If its good enough for someone that suffers from acne to use it, then I know it will work for me too.

IMG_3561

Hourglass website states: This silky, weightless and multipurpose primer goes beyond traditional formulations by concealing redness, minimizing the appearance of pores, fine lines and wrinkles, and shielding skin with Broad Spectrum SPF 15 protection. In addition, it repels water to keep your make up looking freshly applied all day long.

Processed with Moldiv

What I think: Compared to the other primers I have used in the past, this triumphs them all.  Like how Cassandra described it, it really is like rubbing pearls into your skin.  Now don’t take my word for it, as it may be to do with all this pearl talk but I’m sure the primer has a pearly shine.  Though just to be clear here, it doesn’t leave a shine to your face at all.
Anyway so the primer comes out white (or in my eyes it has a pearly shine to it), but when you apply it on your skin it doesn’t leave a white cast at all.  Literally as I apply it, it sinks straight into my skin and leaves it feeling smooth and soft and it makes applying the Bourjois CC Cream so much easier.
It definitely conceals the redness around my mouth and chin area and I find that it does make the CC cream last longer than compared to when I don’t use the primer.  But what makes this product a winner for me is that it doesn’t cause me to break out or aggravate any of my existing acne, which I think for many acne suffers this is the winner.
I don’t know if anyone else had this problem with the primer, but with my first bottle I found that after several uses the primer started coming out from the pump in a runny form.  Despite shaking the bottle and swirling the pump around it still comes outrunny, but then after several more uses it stopped.  What is strange, is that with my second bottle of the primer I didn’t get this problem.

The downside to this product is THE PRICE.  It is so expensive.  It’s more expensive than high end foundation.  Why is it that American brands are so expensive in the UK (Okay, I’m sure that it is the same for UK brands in US, but still…) I am convinced  that they swapped the $ sign for the £ sign when it comes to pricing this product.

So 10ml version costs £20 (Yikes, I hear you say.  Yes £2 for every 1ml product you use!) and the 30ml version costs £52 (DOUBLE YIKES. And remember I said about swapping the $ and £ sign around, well 30ml size in US will cost you $52!).
I don’t think I can ever justify spending that much money on a primer.  I wince at the thought of spending £30 on foundation.

But so far all my purchases for this product have always been from the US, as I’ve been extremely lucky that my sister and friends have been visiting America last year and this year and have kindly brought a bottle back for me.  My friend who went to LA recently, brought me back the jumbo size (60ml) of this primer and it costs me £56.  Which is still really expensive compared to many other primers, but compared to the 30ml version with the UK pricing I think its a pretty good deal.

Overall, I think if you’re looking for a new primer that works and doesn’t cause any issues with acne then this is the one.  It is pricey, but its so worth it.

Hourglass Veil Mineral Primer can be brought in store and online from Space.NK and Liberty starting from £20.

Have you used Hourglass makeup before?  What are your thoughts on their Veil Mineral Primer?

Julie
xox

2 responses to “Hourglass Veil Mineral Primer

    • Hey Sophie! Happy Easter! Yes it’s definitely worth buying. Very pricey here but super affordable in America! Where in America are you going to? xxx

Leave a Reply

