Soap & Glory One Heck Of A Blot Face Powder

For someone that suffers from oily skin, the one thing you will look for in makeup is the ability to control oil.  To keep your skin looking as shine free as possible.

The ones I’ve used in the past, Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder, Vinchy Dermablend Setting Powder and the Neutrogena Shine Control Powder all failed miserably in controlling my oil.  Seriously the oily greasy look, is not a good look. Period.
So I’m always on the hunt to find a decent powder that actually can control shine for more than 3 hours and I think I may have found another holy grail product and that is *drum rolls* Soap & Glory One Heck Of A Blot Powder.

Soap & Glory One Heck Of A Blot.

Soap & Glory One Heck Of A Blot

I have always been a fan of Soap & Glory products, especially the Hand Food Hand Cream.  It smells divine and leaves your hands soft, but I never paid much attention to their makeup range.  Contradicting to myself here as despite saying I’m always on a hunt for new products, I am a bit skeptical when it comes to trying products from brands that I have never used before.  I have always found it being a pain to get refunds on products from drugstore brands, because it has caused you to have a reaction, as I always get the feeling the sales assistants think you are lying.  Life would be much easier if we can get samples of their products, right?  Anyway, so what is so good about the Soap and Glory One Heck Of A Blot powder, I hear you say!

IMG_4996

POWder!

The website states: The secret to perfect, shine-free skin is… Soap & Glory’s new SUPER-TRANSLUCENT MATTIFYING POWDER. It offers world-class shine control and oil-absorption, is ultra-light, and gives skin a traceless, smooth, velvety finish. One shade. For all skin types. Trust us. You want this.

Powder swatch - don't worry it is translucent!

Powder swatch – don’t worry it is translucent!

What I think: You definitely want this product.  I think everyone should have this product in their makeup bag, I’m not kidding you, when I say that this is the only powder product you will need.  The powder is finely milled and translucent even though it does look yellow when you swatch it, I can guarantee you it doesn’t leave a yellow cast, saying that I do have yellow undertone so even if it does, it just blends in anyway. Ha.  But jokes aside it doesn’t.  It is translucent.

The packaging of the product is very funky and retro, like all their other products with cool funky names, which I believe sets them above all the other drugstore beauty brands.

The product comes with a round mirror which is perfect for those who like to touch up during the day.  I tend to leave this product at home since I’m not so much of a touch up person.  It also comes with a sponge, which is a bit flimsy and thin and I’m not one to apply powders with sponges as I found applying it with brushes are the best.
The lasting power of the powder?  Whilst I still get some shine after about 5-6 hours of wear, my skin is no where nearly as oily as it has been with previous powders that I have used.  As previous ones only seem to control oil for about 3 hours or so before my forehead shines like a summer sunshine.  I also found that the powder doesn’t make your skin look cakey or settle into any pores or fine lines, and it leaves your skin feeling matte and smooth.

Overall, there is nothing to not like about the Soap & Glory One Heck Of A Blot Powder.  If you haven’t tried it already then I urge you to go down to Boots after reading this post and take up on the 3 for 2 offer and buy this product.

Soap & Glory One Heck of a Blot powder can be purchased at Boots for £12.  Boots are currently doing 3 for 2 offer across all makeup.

Have you used any Soap & Glory makeup products before?  What do you think of the One Heck Of A Blot powder?

Julie
xox

15 responses to “Soap & Glory One Heck Of A Blot Face Powder

    • This powder is amazing Ann! Definitely worth getting and make use of the 3 for 2 offer. (:
      Happy Easter!!! xxxx

  1. I have been LOVING soap&glory make up at the moment! I’ll have to check out this powder, it sounds great – especially for this time of year! x

    • Hey Sarah! Happy Easter!! The powder is amazing, controls shine and does a much better job than some of the pricey powders. I also brought Peach Party blusher – need to give that a whirl! x

  2. Oh my, I’ve been looking for a powder for sooo long! Everybody raves about the stay matte one but I don’t think it’s that good, will definitely be buying this very soon! Thanks for sharing :) xx

    • Yes this is definitely better that Rimmel ‘Stay Matte’. I’ve tried that one before and it’s no way near as good as the S&G’s one! (: xxx

  3. This really does sounds amazing! and i have oily skin too – I can relate to have a shiny face – it always looks like your make up is running from your face lol – I will definitely give this a go xx

    Thanks for the recommendation :)

    • Definitely one of the best powders I’ve used Yasmin and at £12, can’t really complain! (: let me know how you get on! x

  4. This powder sounds interesting! Glad to hear it works for you :)

    Chloe // chloexlogan.blogspot.co.uk x

  5. This is top of my wishlist for when payday arrives next week :) I had it last summer and just never got round to re-buying it even though it’s the best powder I’ve ever tried, silly me! I’m a huge fan of Soap & Glory makeup, they’ve definitely become my favourite drugstore makeup brand :)
    Love Holly x

    http://www.thehollydays.co.uk

Leave a Reply

