Skin SOS. Acne/Spots Outbreak

I was inspired to write this post, after reading Beth’s post about her spots outbreak over at life looks perfect, as someone that suffers from acne, having an outbreak here and there to me is no biggie.  As sometimes it could be because of the food I’ve eaten when I’ve gone out for dinner with my friends (I try my best to stay away from fried foods), or it could be because mother nature is calling.  Hormonal spots. SUCKS ASS.

But then there has been occasions, where the outbreak of spots is due to new products and it then becomes… SHOOT.  WHICH PRODUCT COULD IT BE?  I’VE USED A FEW NEW PRODUCTS.  Yes, been there done that (kind of thing), as sadly it has happened to me recently.

Despite suffering from acne prone skin, you’re probably screaming at me right now going “why would you still try and test new products?”.  The answer is simply because I want to.  Just because I’m suffering from acne, doesn’t mean I can’t try new products, but I do my research thoroughly.  I make sure that new products I want to try, do not contain any ingredients that can clog or irritate my skin and if I see the bad ingredient is listed within the first 5 of ingredients list, I will not try it.  This is because the content of the ingredients used in the product is quite high.
If its a product I can use, I will then see if I can get some samples and then test the products for about 2 weeks to see if I get a reaction, and it is only then I will commit to buying a full size product if I have seen it improving my skin as well.

It was last week when I noticed that I kept getting spots around my mouth and chin area.  At first, I thought you know maybe its hormonal, mother nature calling and I’m getting more spots – which is something I have experienced before.  But then I got more and more spots over the next few days and added to the mix was some big red ones.  That I then thought to myself, wait what if it wasn’t just hormonal, but actually new products I’ve used that is causing me to have an outbreak.

I thought to myself what are the new products that I’ve used and they were: Nuxe Nuxellence Detox Night Cream, Origins Renewal Serum, Avène Cleanance Expert Moisturiser and The Body Shop Camomile Cleansing Oil.  Now, just to be clear I obviously didn’t use all of these new products all at once.  As that would be silly, I tend to use one product at a time giving at least 1 week between each product.

spot outbreak

Left to right: Skin in Feb and skin in April – suffering from an outbreak.

As you can see in the picture above. my skin back in February was so much better than what it is now.  The April photo, was taken yesterday (06.04.15) and believe it or not the skin is a lot better than what it was before.  There are still active spots but before the spots were angry, red and large. *sad face*

Now my gut feeling was that it couldn’t of been the Origins Renewal Serum and the Avène Cleanance Expert Moisturiser as I have used them solidly for about 3 weeks with no issue of causing me with an outbreak of spots.  The Nuxe Nuxellence Detox Cream, again I’ve been using it for 3 weeks but I haven’t been applying the cream anywhere near my chin and mouth, as I was worried the cream might been too rich for those areas.  So my conclusion was that it was The Body Shop Camomile Cleansing Oil, as out of the four products this was the most recent new product I have used.

In the past, I never got on well with cleansing oil, purely because I was using the Shu Uemura one, which contained mineral oil. And me skin savvy now, know that mineral oil is a big no no for people suffering from acne.  When I heard about the TBS one and I did my usual research about the ingredients and reading the reviews and the product wasn’t screaming “ACNE PRONE SKIN STAY AWAY”, in fact it was gentle enough for people like me, with acne prone skin to use it.  But when my outbreak of spots got worse, I thought okay need to STOP using all the new products and it is time to go back to basic.  And boy did I go back to basic.

Left to right: Garnier Micellar Water, La Roche Posay Physiological Cleansing Gel, Nuxe Gentle Toning Lotion and Avène Cleanance Lotion

Back to Basic Skincare.  Left to right: Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water, La Roche Posay Physiological Cleansing Gel, Nuxe Gentle Toning Lotion and Avène Cleanance Lotion

In the morning and evening, I started using the La Roche Posay Physiological Cleansing Gel.  This cleanser is amazing, its non foamy (a must for acne prone skin) and it leaves me skin feeling squeaky clean, but not drying at all.  I don’t use this to remove my makeup, instead I use the Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water to make sure every single trace of makeup was removed before cleansing my face.  After cleansing my face, I would then use the Nuxe Gentle Toning Lotion to sweep all over my face to give a more refreshing and clean feel.  Then finally, I will use the Avène Cleanance Lotion, to keep my face moisturiser.  Now this isn’t the best moisturiser to use for oily skin, as I don’t find it doing a good job controlling my oil.  However whenever I have an outbreak of spots and it is due to new products, then I always go back to this product whilst my skin calms down.

Since using this routine for the last few days, my skin has calmed down a bit now, I still have a few new spots appearing but nothing in the form of a big spot.  Mother nature has called too, which also will add to my skin being a bit better too.

I think over the next few days I will start adding the Avène Cleanance Expert moisturiser back to my routine and use that for a few weeks before adding the Origins Renewal Serum to the routine and then the Nuxe Nuxellence Detox Night Cream.  Hopefully by adding them slowly to my skincare routine, I can see if it was any of these products that was the cause, as my initial gut feeling was that it wasn’t any of these products.  As for The Body Shop Camomile Cleansing Oil, I think I will give this to a friend to use.  I’ll be honest, but I am scared to use this product again, incase I get another outbreak of spots.

It always sucks when you get an outbreak of spots, but it is always best to remain positive as it can’t get any worse, since you’ve finally realised that you are having one .  Refrain from going off the bend and researching lots of products that claim to help with spots and start slathing on more new products onto your skin.  Also, please do not pick your spots (bad thing to do!), or cover them with spot drying cream/lotions or toothpaste.  Instead, stop and breathe. Go back to basics with your skincare.  Dig out the products that you know that your skin loves and use those till your skin calms down.

Now, going a bit off the bandwagon here but as mentioned earlier I use the Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water to remove my makeup.  I noticed Garnier recently released two other versions to the range.  They are the Micellar Cleansing Water for Combination & Sensitive Skin and also the Pure Active Micellar Cleansing Water, I will not recommend these new micellar cleansing water for anyone suffering from acne, and/or has combination/oily/sensitive skin as both cleansing water contain Alcohol Denat.  Alcohol Denat is a massive no no to anyone suffering from acne or has the skin types I’ve just mentioned.  It will cause the skin to be stripped from its natural oil, meaning your skin will produce more oil and also causes dryness and irritation.  Obviously, if you have used products containing this ingredient and haven’t had any reaction to it, then good for you.  But for others, just avoid.

Finally remember, there is always a light at the end of every tunnel and acne doesn’t define who you are!

Have you had an outbreak recently?  How did you deal with it?  What is your back to basics skincare routine?

Julie
xox

9 responses to “Skin SOS. Acne/Spots Outbreak

  1. I’ve had problems with the body shop cleansing oil too. I don’t think it’s a good one for acne prone skin :( x

    • Yes, despite it claiming to be for all skin types it really isn’t. After doing some more thorough research it contains some pore clogging ingredients! ): x

      • Nope it definitely isn’t. It clogged up my pores really badly. But you always feel inclined to try new products in case you find the wonder product that works. :( here’s hopinggg x x

      • Yes exactly that, I’m forever using the same products that I sometimes want to try something new. But then your skin says no, which is the part that sucks. As then it takes weeks for your skin to go back to normal! x

      • I know it can be a bit rubbish at times. I end up cursing myself for trying out something new! Xx

Leave a Reply

