5 Things I’ve Learned From Blogging.

IMG_5606

1.  I need more than 24 hours –  I salute to all those who have a full time job, but also publish blog posts consistently.  I’ve been off work for over a week now, as I’m waiting to start my new job.  At first I thought, ‘Great!  I can write lots of blog post in advance’.  Yes that clearly happened. NOT.  Juggling helping my mum repaint the whole house, I have so far managed to probably write 2-3 posts in advance.  I honestly need more than 24 hours to do all the things I want to do, and publish content for my blog.

2.  Only a small percentage of people see your tweets – Before I used to be quite sceptical of using Hootsuite to schedule tweets about my posts, as I was worried, really worried that I would be spamming people on Twitter, thus giving myself a bad name.  But I have now realised, that only a small percentage of people will probably see my tweets, so even my scheduled 1 hour tweets, only a small number of people will see.  So therefore, I won’t be known as a spammer (hopefully!).

3.  You will become a beauty product hoarder – In my case for skincare, once I have done my thorough research on the wanted product and have successfully obtained a sample and have used it and its passed the test where it hasn’t caused me to breakout, then I WILL buy it.  As for makeup, before blogging, the thought of wearing lipstick was off putting and now in my drawer I have over 15 lipsticks, with only 5 actually being used, and I’m still on the lookout for more red lipsticks! Wait did someone just say ‘Burberry Kisses’ Lipstick…

4.  Meeting new people – Since starting my blog and actually blogging more consistently, I have met some lovely bloggers at beauty events and have even chatted to other bloggers on Twitter (the power of social media never fails to amaze me!), and its reassuring and nice to know that there are nice people out there.  I always had this vision that the ‘blogging world’ was like working in Topshop, full of bitchy people and who only interact with other people that are deemed as ‘elite’.  Granted I do think that some beauty brands do favour the more popular bloggers, however all that aside, I have met some wonderful bloggers that adore skincare/beauty/makeup just like me, and are honest lovely people that are willingly to help and support you.

5.  There are people that actually read my blog – I always had a goal, that as long as I have one person that reads my blog I’ll be very happy.  The main reason I started my blog, was because I wanted to talk about my acne journey and reach out to people that suffer from acne just like me and reassure them that you’re not alone.  I also wanted to share my own knowledge on acne as well as talking about products that I’ve used.  I never thought in a million years, that I have bloggers or people that read my blog and will take time to comment on my post.  Share their thoughts on acne or what I’ve written or even brands and PR companies that email me asking me to try new products or work on projects.  Every time I receive a comment or an email, I am always thinking to myself, is this really happening.

What things have you learned from blogging?

Julie
xox

31 responses to “5 Things I’ve Learned From Blogging.

  1. Love this post and I agree with all of them too. Im hoping to meet and speak to alot more bloggers too, its nice to meet people who have the same interest as you.

    xxx

    • Hi Yasmin! Thank you so much for your comment! I’ve checked out your blog and its really nice! (:

      It is nice to meet new bloggers, newbies and some of the established ones and so far all the ones i’ve met have been really nice (life yourself!). xxx

    • Haha, yes same here! I wish I didn’t have to sleep either. I will be able to lots of things then! x

    • Oh yes definitely does. Most of the things I have, I haven’t even opened and used yet I still keep buying more products! x

  2. These points are oh-so true it hurts! I work 9-5.30 Friday to Tuesday, then spend Tuesday evening to Friday morning at my boyfriends and he doesn’t have wifi *cries*. It’s hard, but totally worth it! Great post :D x
    ELEANORMAES

    • Thank you Ellie, for your kind words! If only we can stop time and do blogging and press play and life starts again! (: x

    • thank you Beth! It is indeed. I never thought anyone would read what I write, let alone leave a comment (: x

    • Thank you so much! Definitely. I didn’t think anyone would read what I write, but there are some people that do, which is always nice to know! (: x

  3. I WISH there were more than 24 hours in a day!! I am in serious awe of bloggers with 10k+ followers who post every day and still work full time. My organisational skills clearly aren’t up to scratch.. Loved this post!

    alittlesoapbox.com

    • Thank you Jill! I know. I don’t know how people do it.
      I started my new job this week, so haven’t had any time to blog and have friends over this weekend too. Looks like it will be next week before I can buckle down to write posts and schedule them!

    • Hehe Emma. A girl can never have too many lipsticks or foundations! Different foundations for summer and winter. Different lipsticks for occasions and looks. Any excuse right? (: xx

  4. Love this post and I 100% agree with the not enough hours in the day thing.

  5. I love this post, very true and to the point. As a newbie in a blogging world I totally agree with not having enough time! But I have been enjoying every minute of it so far!! Ive already been a makeup hoarder before, so no change here and points 4 and 5 I’m yet to experience I hope. Would love to meet other bloggers and see more people read my posts, so fingers crossed. Well done, great post xxx

    • Hey Maggie! Welcome to the world of blogging!
      I’ve been struggling this month to blog three times a week, I still don’t know how people can blog every day!
      Point 4 and 5 will come! Don’t you worry about that, your blog is awesome! And when they do come you will remember that moment! (: xxx

Leave a Reply

