Are Numbers That Important?

I actually came up with this blog post, whilst I was doing the dishes. haha.  But jokes aside, are numbers that important when it comes to blogging?

For me, not really.  Yes I do check my blog stats every day, but I’m happy when I have 50 pages views and I get extremely happy when I get over 100.  But I know for most bloggers out there, they probably get like 1000 pages views every day!  I don’t have my own domain, nor do I understand all these other stats you’re meant to know.

I guess for me, when it starts all becoming about the numbers, it takes out the fun in blogging. Sometimes I do think, should I invest in more time in getting to know the numbers and stats side to my blog.  Maybe it would help my blog grow, brands and PR might want to work with me.  I might get more readers, followers and etc… and then I get a headache.

I started off this blog, because I wanted to be a voice to people suffering from acne, a voice to say you’re not alone, a voice to say look these products worked for me and a voice to say these products didn’t.  Never in a million years, I thought I would get followers, nor get invited to work with brands or on projects.  Be asked to go onto TV or get sent products to test and review. Whilst I don’t think I am in any rush to understand the numbers and stats.  I have decided to set myself some milestone goals for my blog and they are:

  1. To reach 200 followers on my blog via WordPress.
  2. To reach 100 followers on my blog via Bloglovin.
  3. To reach 500 followers on Twitter.
  4. To reach 200 followers on Instagram.

I’m not going to set myself a deadline as to when I need to achieve all these milestone goals by.  As they may take me days/months/years to achieve!  But once I have achieved all four goals, I will be celebrating it in true blogging style but hosting a giveaway!

Once again, thank you to all those that have read/supported/followed my blog!

Are numbers important in blogging?  Do you have any milestone goals you wish to achieve for your blog?

Julie
xox

23 responses to “Are Numbers That Important?

  1. Sometimes it is easy to let other people’s number get me down. When I hear, “I went to bed with 100 followers and woke up with 200” I think about what I might be doing wrong. Then, I squash that thought because my number 1 reason for blogging is because it is fun. Once I start obsessing over numbers it’s not fun anymore!!! So I rarely check the stats and I have wayyyyy more fun :) I will say that I watch to see what people enjoy to help tailor my next posts, but that’s because I love everyone and am a huge people pleaser ;)

    • Definitely agree with you there! Blogging should be fun Liz and your blog is fab! Informative and fun! (:
      There nothing wrong tailoring your next posts! I sometimes think what would people like to read. (: xxx

  2. I really liked this! I’ve seen a few similar tweets and discussions on ‘becoming big’ and honestly I don’t think I would personally enjoy it. I like blogging my own opinions and like you, don’t mind if I get 3 or 300 views. I think the moment you start really worrying about an audience and the numbers game is the moment your blog starts to lose ‘your’ identity so to speak. Where it just becomes a chore rather than a hobby!! xx

    • I don’t think I could ever blog full time and make it my source of income. Even trying to blog three times a week is a struggle!
      I think if at least one person reads what I write and finds it helpful and useful then I’m happy.
      Definitely agree with you losing your identity. I think it’s great that there are bloggers out there, that have made it (if that’s the correct word to use) but it’s not for me! I prefer to do it as a side hobby! (: x

  3. Love this post . It’s true though once numbers are focused then it takes the fun out of blogging which is no fun .

    Great entry x

  4. I love this! Blogging is just a bit of fun for me too and I can’t compete with bigger bloggers so I just don’t try! Lovely post, great to know that other people feel the same. Wish I’d found your blog sooner as I suffer from acne and it’s a lifeline to know you’re not alone :) you do a great job xxx

    • Hi Abigail, thank you for your comment!

      Yes blogging for me is just fun, I’ll never make it a FT job – so I’m not bothered about numbers! It’s always nice to hear that there are people out there suffering from acne too (obviously acne is a pain and I would never wish it on anyone) but nice to know you’re not alone!

      I followed you on bloglovin’! Really jealous and so excited for your travel plans. I’ve heard Thailand and Vietnam are amazing! :D x

  5. I’m relatively new to blogging but the numbers mean nothing to me, I have about 50 followers on Bloglovin but I’m just happy that I’m writing again and people are actually engaging with my posts :)

    Sarah x

    • Hear hear Sarah! I think the best thing about blogging is being happy with what you’re writing and that there are people that enjoy reading your posts! x

  6. Great post. I have to admit that when I first started blogging I was a bit worried about stats. I was a bit jealous of those who get 1000 views a day.

    But I changed my mindset and enjoy what I’m doing. It doesn’t matter if I get 50 or 100 page views a day.

    • Exactly, page views and stats are nothing if you compare it to doing what you love doing – which is blogging! x

  7. Excellent. I like the way u think. U wish to help others with information of what works and what does not. I am sure u followers will keep increasing. Keep it up. Hope u are fine. Me, i an lost as i still haven’t found my passion in a specific topic but even i want to help others. Good luck. :)

    • Thank you for your kind words! I think the most important thing is that you enjoying writing/blogging and helping people! (:

  8. Hi Julie,
    I couldn’t agree more. In the end of the day blogging is about being creative and as you said have a voice. Numbers can take all the fun away. I have some blogger friends and I hear them say I got 500 views today and others 800 views a day, and I am like well i got 55. So I kinda felt obligated to blog more, but I noticed that my writing was not as good cus I was under pressure. Now I blog whenever I feel like it, I don’t care if is going to be view by 1 person or 200. :)
    x

    • Hi Anna!
      Definitely at the end of the day the reason why everyone started blogging was to have fun and have a voice on the Internet. No one started off because it was all about page views!
      I honestly salute to those who can blog every single day with a full time job – I certainly can’t! Blogging three times a week can be hard for me! (: x

  9. I totally relate to this post! Numbers can be tricky for bloggers. I was never one to look at stats on my blog but from the start I was always pushing for higher #s on insta/Twitter/pinterest (even though I have a longggg way to go). As a fairly new blogger, I’ve also set goals so it’s nice to know someone else is doing the same :) but as you said, putting emphasis on #s can take the fun out of it all.Guess it really depends on what you’re trying to achieve w/ your blog.

    • I think most new/ish bloggers can all relate to this. I think at first I was always thinking why are my stats not higher and etc but then after a while I realised it doesn’t matter as at the end of the day blogging for me is a hobby and something fun on the side for me to do! Now after accepting that, I have way more fun with my blog! X

    • Great to hear your thoughts on this Heather! I think balance is the key. Focusing too much on the numbers take out the fun of blogging. X

  10. Pingback: What I look for in a blog | This, Tatt and the Other·

Leave a Reply

