The Two Clinique Products That I Love

So admittedly I’m not a fan of Clinique, which does contradict to the title of the blog.  I have used Clinique products in the past, the full 3 step Anti-Blemish Range, which in my opinion is far too drying for acne prone skin.

Having said that (this is where the contradiction comes into play), I have found two products from Clinique that I absolutely love and in my opinion I don’t think these products are known to many people compared to their other products!  They need more love…

left to right: Clinique Take The Day Off Makeup Remover For Lids, Lashes & Lips and Clinique Mild Clarifying Lotion

Left to right: Clinique Take The Day Off Makeup Remover For Lids, Lashes & Lips and Clinique Mild Clarifying Lotion.

I first heard of Clinique Mild Clarifying Lotion, was when I was researching for exfoliating/acid toners.  Skincare guru Caroline Hirons wrote a post on ‘The Top 10 Acid Toners‘, she would recommend and Clinique Mild Clarifying Lotion was featured in at number 9 – I don’t think her list was in any particular order.  At first, I was relunctant to try this toner as it was from Clinique, and with previous experience I didn’t want to risk trying this toner.  

Instead I went and brought myself the First Aid Beauty Facial Radiance Pads from Beautybay, which unfortunately did not work out for me after 5 uses.  The pads irritated my skin due to the plant irritants they use and also I don’t think I can use lactic and glycolic acids.  One a side note, I would not recommend purchasing any products from Beautybay, because their customer service is shocking.  I have never come across a company that doesn’t have an exception to people that have suffered an allergic reaction to the products and offer them a full refund.  Instead I was slapped on the face with a ‘no, sorry we can’t give you a refund because you have opened the product’.  Anyway, word of advice, do not buy from them.

So after that sad episode of acid toning, I was on a hunt for another toner.  I went back to Caroline’s post and spotted Clinique’s toner and after doing my research on Paula’s Choice Beautypedia website (which is very good to get some opinions on brands and their products), this toner scored 3 out of 4 stars.  On the website, it states that it is alcohol free (hurray!) and contains 0.5% salicylic acid with an effective pH of 2.9, I was curious to give this a try.  As usual I did an ingredient check on Acne Mantra and the toner contained 3 mildly comedogenic ingredients.  Now for me, my skin is usually okay with mildly comedogenic ingredients, as the ingredients tend to be lower down the list with the products I use.  With this toner, ‘Butylene Glycol’ which is mildly comedogenic is listed as the second ingredient in the toner.  ‘Cetyl Alcohol’ and ‘Dimethicone’ which are also mildly comedogenic are further down the list.

Clinique Mild Clarifying Lotion

Clinique Mild Clarifying Lotion

I purchased this nifty green bottle from Debenhams.  Clinique is a brand that offer refunds if you suffer from a reaction to their product, which I think is a massive bonus.  As skincare products can be expensive, and it is heart breaking when you buy a product and realise it doesn’t work or you react to it.  Then you’re out of pocket because you can’t return it.  So well done to Clinique for having this amazing policy.

I have used the toner for about 4 weeks now, at first I started to use it just in the evening, incase I suffer from a reaction or any irritation.  It is always wise to test out new products in the evening rather than the morning.  But after two days I upped my usage to twice a day as I didn’t suffer any reaction or breakouts to it.  I use this straight after I cleansed my face, and follow it with a spritz of La Roche Posay’s Serozinc and then I moisturise my face.  Recently my spots outbreak has reduced massively, which I don’t think is solely down to the use of this product,  it is more of a combination of change in diet, sleeping early and using blue light therapy to treat my acne.  But when I use this toner it leaves my skin feeling soft and smooth which I think is down to the exfoliating part that helps to get rid of dead skin!  I definitely recommend this for anyone with acne prone skin and for those who cannot use any AHA’s acids!

Next up on love list for Clinique’s products is the Take The Day Off (TTDO) Makeup Remover For Lids, Lashes & Lips.  When it comes to eye makeup remover, for some bizarre strange reason my right eye is so sensitive!  Eye makeup remover products I have used in the past, just irritate the right eye and I’m left with a red puffy eye.  My left eye on the other hand is fine, so strange.  So I’m always careful what I use on my right eye and for many years I have struggled to find an eye makeup remover, that doesn’t give my right eye grief!  I know most people think you don’t need a specific eye makeup remover, just use the one you use to take off your face makeup.  Which I do.  I use the Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water, but recently I found it struggled to remove every single trace of my mascara and eyeliner.

Take The Day Off Makeup Remover for Lids, Lashes and Lips

Take The Day Off Makeup Remover for Lids, Lashes and Lips

This is when TTDO Makeup Remover came to the rescue.  I was clearing out my drawers one day, and say this half used bottle and thought to myself let me try this and see if its any good.  BOY, is it good.  I wet the cotton pad three times and hold it over my eye and give it a little gentle pat and rub and with a few swipes majority of the eyeliner and mascara is removed.  I then usually go over a few more times in the outer corner of the eye (I always struggle to remove the makeup from there!)  It is also great news for my right eye, as I haven’t suffered any reactions to it!

I honestly do not think these two products get enough love from the staff at Clinique.  When I went to Debenhmas to purchase the Mild Clarifying Lotion, the product wasn’t even on the shelf.  The lady got it out from the cupboard for me.  When I went to purchase the TTDO Makeup Remover at Boots, the lady recommended me to buy the Take The Day Off Cleansing Balm – in my opinion is not suitable for acne prone skin as it contains ‘Ethylhexyl Palmitate’ which is a highly comedogenic ingredient and it is the first ingredient on the list.

If you’re looking for an acid toner suitable for acne prone skin and an eye makeup remover then look no further!  These are the two products you need.

Do you use these two Clinique products?  What is your experience with Clinique products?

Julie
xox

13 responses to “The Two Clinique Products That I Love

    • Hey Charline! Great to hear you’re getting along with the Clinique’s 3 Step Routine. I personally wasn’t a fan of it, found it too drying!

  1. I had the same experience with the 3-step system for acne prone skin.. It was way too harsh for my skin and dried it out completely!! 👎🏼 Not tried any Clinique since :/

    • Yes I’m not a fan of their acne prone range, despite using it for two years. It was far too harsh and drying. The mild clarifying lotion I mentioned is well worth a try – its alcohol free! x

  2. I have not been a fan of clinique in the past as I find that their products irritate my skin and that despite being a more high end price, they don’t feel as luxurious as other brands. I am keen to try products from their take the day off range though as I have heard great things! I really liked this in depth post! xxx

    • Hello! Thank you for your lovely comment!

      Yes I had the same problem with Clinique, too harsh, too drying and irritation. But the toner that I mentioned does none of the above! Which is a bonus! The Take The Day Off Cleansing balm is a hit with many people – sadly not suitable for acne prone skin! x

      • You are welcome! My skin is very blemish prone but since ditching face wipes and switching to balm cleansers it’s like a miracle! It has improved so much! xxx

  3. I use the toner and it’s the only one I’ll buy! I need to try the makeup remover now lol :)

    • haha. Toner is amazing! Thank you for the recommending it, when I first posted about it! Always a bonus when you hear great things about it from another blogger.

      The eye makeup remover is good, takes the majority of all my eye makeup off in one swipe! x

      • Oh, right! I almost forgot! I felt like it was familiar…but it was 6:45 am when I was reading it so there was a little brain fog lol :)

    • I love the moisture surge lotion! I’m going to America in a few weeks time, going to stock up! :D x

Leave a Reply

