Afternoon Tea @ Sketch London

I think afternoon tea’s is something you either love it or you don’t.  Its not everyone’s cup of tea (no pun intended).  Some might say its too pricey for what you get, or what is so special about having tea, cakes and sandwiches.  But then you get some people (I fall into this category) that enjoy afternoon tea!  I like the fact it is a very British thing and I love the finger sandwiches, the scrumptious scones with clotted cream and the tasty cakes! :D

I’ve always wanted to go to Sketch London to have afternoon tea, ever since I saw Sketch restaurant appear on the very early seasons of Made in Chelsea (don’t judge me!).  In that episode, the scene was shot in The Glade room, which in real life is absolutely stunning.  I love the decor and the wicker furniture, it is ever so funky!  So couple month’s ago, me and my friends decided for the Easter weekend to treat ourselves to a spot of afternoon tea and there is no better place to have it than at Sketch London!

Sketch London

Sketch London
Image from: Sketch

If pink is your favourite colour, then you’re in for a real treat!  The decor is so quirky and unique.  The whole room is pink, filled with wall art by David Shrigley on each of the walls, except for the one where the bar is situated.  The seating features pink sofas and what I describe as ‘pink ladyfinger biscuits’ chairs.  It really is an Instagram worthy room!

Funky decor

Funky decor!

So there is a choice of three different types of afternoon tea’s: Sketch Afternoon Tea, Champagne Afternoon Tea and Non-alocholic Afternoon Tea.  We decided to stick to the Sketch Afternoon Tea (£39 pp).  Keep it simple, you know?!

There was a lot of tea’s to choose from and all honesty I can’t remember what ones I had – yes with afternoon tea’s you don’t have to stick to your first choice, you can choose different ones to drink from.  But what I do remember is that the teas were a bit of a hit and miss, some were nice and some were very bland.

Swiftly moving on, besides the amazing decor, the crockery used were so fun and quirky.  I want it ALL, if I had the money!  I love the tea cup and the tea pot and the words etched on them.

Processed with Moldiv

Best crockery ever?

Now here comes the best part.  THE FOOD. Out of all the afternoon tea’s I have ever tried (which currently stands at 4), these sandwiches are by far the best I’ve had.  Plus it doesn’t hurt that they are ever so cute too!

The sandwiches consisted of:

  • Smoked Salmon and Jacob’s Cream
  • Cucumber and Ricotta
  • Mozzarella and Pesto Panini
  • Egg Mayonnaise, Quail Egg and Caviar

The little quail egg on the top was sooo cute, I really didn’t want to eat it.  The smoked salmon sandwich was served on a soft Swedish bread, it was was delicious.  But surprisingly I think my favourite sandwich choice had to be the Mozzarella and Pesto Panini, it was still nice and warm when I came to eat it, and just look at how it was presented. SO FREAKING ADORABLE.

IMG_5097

yummy sandwiches!

If you’re a sucker for pastries, then you’re in for a right treat as there was a lot of pastries to eat and to choose from:

  • «Pomme d’Amour» Tart
  • Earl Grey Macaroon
  • Salted Caramel and Vanilla Chantilly Religieuse
  • Rhubarb and Raspberry Cheesecake
  • Pineapple, Coriander and Coconut Sponge Cake
  • Chocolate Mint «Lignon» Cake
  • Cassis Meringue
  • Malabar Marshmallows

Even though there was a lot of pastries to eat, unfortunately not all of them were tasted as nice as it sounds.  But the best ones were the Pomme d’Amour Tart, Earl Grey Macaroon and Salted Caramel and Vanilla Chantilly Religieuse.

IMG_5091

No afternoon tea is complete without eating scones.  I absolutely love scones with clotted cream and jam. So fattening but so good. Haha.  The ones at Sketch were huge, they were not your normal small round scones, these were big square ones.  They came out separately to the other food and was in a cloth bag to keep it nice and warm.

The scones were served with clotted cream, fig and strawberry homemade jam.  The winning combination.  At first, I thought I need to have another one, but after eating one, my stomach couldn’t handle anymore. Shocking, I know!

SCONE-TASTIC!

SCONE-TASTIC!

Would you like some?

Would you like some?.
Image from: Sketch

I saved the best part to last, yes food was great (I think the sandwiches and scones made up for the not so good pastries).  But for those who have heard of Sketch London, would have seen many photos of their strange but funky toilet pods.  I think everyone that has been to Sketch has taken a photos of the toilets or with the toilets.

As it was easter weekend when i went to Sketch London, the toilet had a duck theme.  In the individual toilet pod, you can hear duck noises, it was so bizarre.  This is far by the most unique toilets I have ever been in – I wasn’t fan of the mirror though, it gave a distorted view and after using it when I was touching up my makeup, I walked away with a slight headache.

funky toilets

Funky toilets

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed myself at Sketch London and would totally recommend it to those who love afternoon teas!  It makes a great girly day out with your girlfriends.

Sketch London is located on 9 Conduit Street, London.  You can make an online reservation by clicking here.

Have you been to Sketch London before?  Do you enjoy afternoon tea?

Julie
xox

6 responses to “Afternoon Tea @ Sketch London

Leave a Reply

