Burberry Kisses Lipstick

It seems that fashion labels are taking a dig into the cosmetic industry these days.  It seems brands want a piece of the beauty cake, which is fine with me and other beauty bloggers, since it only means more choices for us.

Now Burberry decided it wanted a piece of the beauty cake, and launched their very own makeup line.  As always, I’m very slow to join on the bandwagon.  I tend to not experiment much with face makeup, due to my skin type (acne/oily skin) so I tend to skip trialling out face makeup and divert my attention to their lip products.  But then I have a dilemma, as I find it hard to justify spending £25+ on a lipstick, especially when I like to hoard more than use.

So when Burberry launched their new lipstick range, Burberry Kisses.  They did something that I believe no other brand has ever done, launched a campaign on Twitter.  This campaign allowed users to nominate their twitter friends to receive a free mini Burberry Kisses.  I think everyone jumped onto this campaign.  I sure did and nominate 10 Twitter friends.  I was very lucky to be nominated twice and I chose the shade No.109 Military Red.

Burberry Kisses

Burberry Kisses

Before I dive into the two lipsticks, can we take a moment just to admire THE BEAUTIFUL PACKAGING.  Out of all the designer beauty brands, I think Burberry wins hands down (in my opinion) for their packaging.  It just feels and looks luxurious and I love the magnetic closure, you just know when you feel that snap.  The lipstick is safe.

There are 28 shades to choose from in the Burberry Kisses range, with the colour ranging from nudes, pinks to red.  The two shades I have are obviously in the red category.  The two shades I have are:

  • No.109 Military Red*
  • No.113 Union Red

As I’ve said before, I honestly do not need anymore lipsticks.  I have so many that I haven’t used, that it is a crime I keep on buying lipsticks.  But when I see a shade that screams “buy me JULIE!!!”, I just can’t resist, and my hand goes into my bag, takes out my purse and the credit card is handed over.

Left to right: No.113 Union Red and No.109 Military Red.

Left to right: No.113 Union Red and No.109 Military Red.

Again, sorry for the small swatches.  If you read my Zoeva Luxe Cream Lipstick post, you will know that it is the first time I have watched lipsticks, as I like to keep my lipsticks in pristine condition, hence the hoarding more using of lipstick.

So lets start of with No.109 Military Red.  As I said before, I got this lipstick free as part of the Burberry Twitter campaign.  This shade is also the one that Suki Waterhouse (gorgeous woman) wears for the Burberry Kisses campaign, so when I saw this was an option to select, I knew I had to get it.  I am hands down a red shade girl and this red is right up my street like most reds I buy.  It is described as “the perfect, most universal red which suits all skin tones”, by Burberry Beauty’s Artistic Consultant Wendy Rowe.  And I couldn’t agree with her more.  I think no matter what skin tone you have, this red will suit you.

No.109 Military Red

No.109 Military Red

No.113 Union Red, was purchased at Harrods and I used my £5 worth of Harrods points towards the purchase and it was also a pay day treat, so hence why I didn’t feel so bad spending £20 on a lipstick.  At first I was thinking, should I purchase a full size Military Red instead, but when I applied this onto my hand, I just knew I had to get this lipstick.  Compared to Military Red, Union Red is a more cool red tone, which is a shade I don’t have in my lipstick stash as I tend to go for the more bright red shades (but not so bright, like neon!).  But like Military Red, I think this shade is another one that will suit all skin tones.

No.113 Union Red

No.113 Union Red

What I like about these lipsticks, is that you can tailor the shade intensity to suit you.  So you can opt for a sheer coverage to a deep striking pop of colour!  Perfect from going from a day time to night time look with just one lipstick.  The lipstick formula is very light, moisturising and hydrating, as it is enriched with Burberry’s signature blend of tea, lavender and rosehip.  I was very surprised of the colour payoff with Military Red, with one swipe the shade intensity was right for me.

Burberry Kisses Lipsticks costs £25.00 and is available to purchase online from Burberry, Debenhams and John Lewis.

Have you tried Burberry Kisses Lipsticks before?  What are your thoughts on Burberry Makeup?

Julie
xox

8 responses to “Burberry Kisses Lipstick

  1. I love Burberry Beauty! I had tried all of their lipstick range except the velvet one, and am in love with all of them. They are not the most long lasting one, but definitely one of the most comfortable ones!

    Lenny C | Initial L

Leave a Reply

