Birchbox X Skinnydip London Beauty Box. #SQUADGOALS

Last week, I was invited along to the Birchbox x Skinnydip London event, by the lovely Sarah from Temporary:Secretary.  I met Sarah through Twitter and she is currently living and working in London and was ever so generous taking me a plus one to this event!

I was excited for this event, as firstly, I’ve never brought or subscribed to Birchbox before, so have always been intrigued to see what their beauty boxes are like.  Yes, I know, you can read reviews online about it, but its never quite the same as having the actual box in front of you.  Secondly, I adore Skinny-dip London.  I just love how cool, fun and quirky the brand is.

The event took place at Skinnydip London in Carnaby Street. It started at 6pm, and you come into the store, take a look at the amazing collection of products Skinnydip has, drink some cocktails and munch of the yummy cupcakes and take a cheeky peek (wasn’t actually cheeky) of the new beauty box.

Birchbox x Skinnydip London Event

Birchbox x Skinnydip London Event

Anyway, back to the most important thing. The BEAUTY BOX!*  Now in all honestly, £10 + £2.95 (p+p), I did find the actual products a little bit on the small side.  I’m a subscriber to My Little Box and the beauty items you get in the box are either full size or a luxury sample size, so comparing with Birchbox, I definitely think My Little Box is more value for money.

But having said that, this collaboration box did have some very nice products and products from brand that I have never heard of or used!

Birchbox x Skinnydip London Beauty Box

Birchbox x Skinnydip London Beauty Box

English Laundry Notting Hill Femme Eau De Parfum (2ml) – £60 for full size |  This is the first time, I’ve heard of English Laundry, and I’m usually more of a floral scent gal so I was quite surprised that I actually liked this scent.  The Femme version is a brighter and of course more feminine take on the classic men’s fragrances.  The scent has a blend of fruity notes of mandarin  and cassis with hints of warm wood and vanilla.  This scent is definitely perfect to wear this autumn/winter!

Cowshed Cow Pat Hand Cream (50ml) – £8 | You all know just how much I love hand creams, so I was très happy when I saw a hand cream in the box and also one from Cowshed.  I haven’t used many of Cowshed products apart from a body lotion, which I adore, but whilst the hand cream is moisturising and left my hands feeling soft.  I was not a fan of this scent, the coriander was just a little bit powerful, so you couldn’t smell the grapefruit.  Which is a shame, as it is a great product.

Trilogy Make-Up Be Gone Cleansing Balm (10ml) – £19.50 for 80ml | After attending a beauty event few months ago, I was introduced into the world of Trilogy.  I’ve heard so many great things about their Rosehip Oil, so I’m very intrigued to try out more products from this brand.  While I do have this in full size, I have yet to try it, so this small sample has just come along at the right time.  Make-Up Be Gone is an end-of-the-day cleansing balm designed to melt the day way with the nourishing blend of mango butter, coconut oil and rosehip oil that lifts away stubborn make up and impurities, leaving you with fresh, clean and supple skin.  Personally for me, I would use this as a second cleanse, rather than using it to remove makeup.  If you have used this to remove makeup, please let me know your thoughts!

Beauty treats...

Beauty treats…

REN Wake Wonderful Night-Time Facial (10ml) – £32.00 for 40ml | Again, REN is another brand that I have heard lots of good things about on the blog’sphere, but have never had the chance to try their products.  So now is the chance!  The Night-Time Facial is described as a transforming treatment that works overnight to leave the skin feeling refreshed, brighter and more luminous in the morning, thanks to the blend of glycolic and lactic acid that triggers cell renewal while you’re sleeping.

Living Proof. ® Restore Instant Repair Cream (30ml) – £25 for 118ml | This brand is completely new to me, so very eager to try this product out.  The Restore Instant Repair Cream is an instant transformer that corrects and treats hair before, during and after styling.  It also helps to seal split ends and makes hair 15x stronger after just 1 use!  Hello gorgeous shiny locks.  This product was made for me and my “I straighten my hair every day” hair.

Lord & Berry Silhouette Neutral Lip Liner (0.5g) – £9.00 for full size | So I have recently jumped on the lip liner bandwagon, after having a Charlotte Tilbury makeover, and I have since own two lip liners, one nude and one red and I aim to add more to the collection.  This Lord & Berry lip liner is perfect addition to my lip liner collection, as it runs clear it means it will go with whatever shade lipstick I use!  The lip liner is enriched with hydrolised wheat proteins that inflate with then come into contact with moisture to fill in fine lines around the mouth.  Say goodbye to bleeding and smudging lipsticks to hello gorgeous defined lips!

I was also lucky enough to be gifted with a full size REN Wake Wonderful Night-Time Facial and a exclusive Birchbox X Skinnydip Clear Shell iPhone 6 case.  You can upgrade your box at a cost of £4 and receive the case too!

Birchbox x Skinnydip London

Overall, I thought this was a lovely box with some great beauty items.  I like that Birchbox does collaborations with different brands, but I think for the price you pay for the box each month, it is expensive considering some of the samples are small.

You can subscribe to Birchbox X Skinnydip London Box, by clicking here.  To view the full line up of products, you can receive, please click here.

Subscription costs £10 + £2.95 (p+p) a month, but Birchbox offers 3, 6 and 12 month’s subscription service.

Are you a Birchbox subscriber?  What are your thoughts on November’s box?

Julie
xox

3 responses to “Birchbox X Skinnydip London Beauty Box. #SQUADGOALS

Leave a Reply

