Make Up For Ever HD Foundation, worth the hype?

For as long as I can remember, I have been on a look out for a foundation that would work with my skin type. Oily, acne prone.  But never I thought it would be this hard, considering how the market is saturated with so many foundations, surely it can’t be that hard?.  Well let me tell you something, it can be that hard!

My go to product is the wonderful Bourjois CC Cream, which I believe is the best drugstore CC cream you can use!  But I thought it was time to invest in a foundation that would provide me the extra coverage I need, however I didn’t expect it will take me so long to find a foundation that suited my needs and my skin type.

I’ve tried so many foundations, Clinique, Clarins, Chanel, Estee Lauder and Bobbi Brown, but I found either a) the colour matching was awful b) it broke me out c) it felt too heavy on my skin.  But I was determined to find the foundation, that I can say ‘YES, this is the one!’

So when Debehams announced they will be selling Make Up For Ever (MUFE), I thought this is it now.  This is the winning foundation, as I have heard so many great reviews about this on the blog’sphere, on how its great for acne prone and oily skin.  It doesn’t break you out and does a great job at controlling oil.  The product also earned 5 Stars on Paula’s Choice Beautypedia page too, and reviewed as a foundation suitable for normal to very oil skin due to its satin-matte finish.  I obviously had very high hopes for this foundation!

Make Up For Ever

Make Up For Ever HD Foundation

The website states, MAKE UP FOR EVER HD Complexion products use innovative formulas to create a new generation of makeup which is both invisible on HD cameras and to the naked eye.  HD Foundation combines flawless coverage and an extremely natural finish.  The Sericite contained in HD Foundation heightens the diffusion of light and intensifies the glow of the skin.  Enriched with moisturising agent, HD Foundation moisturises and prepares the skin for makeup. Its usually smooth andelastic texture makes it easy to apply and a pleasure to wear.  Skin texture is refined to give a very natural complexion.  HD Foundation is an oil-free medium-to-full coverage liquid foundation which covers skin imperfections, while remaining invisible on-screen and in real life.

Make Up For Ever HD Foundation in N120.

Make Up For Ever HD Foundation in N120.

My thoughts?  This is one over-hyped product.  Now before I go into why I didn’t like it, a plus side to the foundation is that it comes in a wide range of colours to suit different coloured skin tone and it didn’t break me out.  When I first used it, I was quite surprised and pleased that I only needed to use few pumps to cover my face and thought ‘wow this bottle will last me for a long time’.  Now I used it for a week (yes i know, I was a bit slow!), before I realise that this foundation really wasn’t that good.

For a foundation that is oil-free and was reviewed to be suitable for oily skin, gosh it did a terrible job at controlling oil.  I found that within 4 hours of wear my T-Zone was so oily and I had to blot my skin regularly to suck up the oil (yes yuck!).  Also I found towards the end of the day parts of my makeup would have disappeared.  God knows how I only managed to noticed this after a week of using it!

Overall, I think this foundation is more suited for those who have normal or slightly oily skin, but not for the very oily skin like moi!

Overhyped product...

It appears this foundation is no longer available to purchase as MUFE has launched the newly Ultra HD Foundation! 

Make Up For Ever makeup can be purchased in-store and online at Debenhams.

What are your thoughts on Make Up For Ever?  Have you used the HD foundation before?

Julie
xox

4 responses to “Make Up For Ever HD Foundation, worth the hype?

  1. Oh dear sorry it didn’t work for you lovely! I am always a little skeptical of trying very expensive foundations.. so always find reviews like this very helpful .. so thank you lovely!
    Saira
    throughtheglitterglass.wordpress.com xx

  2. I completely agree with this whole post. I was so underwhelmed by this product. I felt like I had to apply so much to achieve the desired look I wanted only for it to not last too long. It’s so overhyped. Their other products are fantastic though – really recommend their translucent HD powder and smokey lash mascara! Great post :)

    http://www.typicalamy.com

    • Thank you Amy!

      Yes it was such a disappointment with this foundation. I was trying Mac Matchmaster foundation, but I think that is breaking me out so stopped using that until my skin calms down and then will try again.

      Oh I’ve heard good things about the MUFE HD powder, is it really that good? x

Leave a Reply

